Walthall Artist Fellowship 2012-13

Walthall web bar draft06SD copy

Currently in its inaugural year, The Walthall Artist Fellowship seeks to forever impact the participating visual and performing artists by providing them with the necessary tools, resources, and community-base to significantly advance and define their careers as artists.

Program elements include:
-Monthly symposia with Atlanta’s leading arts professionals,
-Monthly roundtables in which Fellows lead discussion about critical issues to their practice,
-Individualized one-to-one informal mentorships for each Fellow,
-A 5-day residency on Ossabaw Island,
-and a group exhibition featuring all twelve artists at MOCA GA in Summer 2013.

Symposium Schedule:
June 30th: Making a Living / Advocacy
July 28th: Legal Issues in the Arts / Working with Galleries
August 25th: Working with Studios, Galleries, Museums, and Academic Institutions
September 22nd: Social Media / Marketing
October 27th: Working with the Press / Proposals, Grants, and Fundraising
December 1st: Business Plans, Insurance, Financial Management, Studio Space & Housing
January 5th: Working in the Public Realm, Teaching Art, Art & Activism
February 2nd: Building a Portfolio / Preserving Your Work/ Working Beyond Atlanta

Announcing the Walthall Artist Fellows of 2012-2013 and their Artist Mentors:

Kevin Byrd (Scott Ingram)
Bethany Collins (Sheila Pree Bright)
In Kyoung Chun (Seana Reilly)
Corian Ellisor (Lauri Stallings)
Helen Hale (Shelby Hofer)
Roni Nicole Henderson (Dr. Arturo Lindsay)
Hailey Lowe (Danielle Roney)
Sergei Isaenko (Sarah Hobbs)
Andre Keichian (Marcia Vaitsman)
Mike Klapthor (Lonnie Holley)
Deborah Sosower (Daniel Robin)
Rachel Stoker (Jason Kofke)


April 23rd, 2013 Creative Loafing review by Wyatt Williams